Book Awards
 As a part of the K-5 media literacy curriculum, students in first through fifth grade learn about a book award to celebrate the outstanding work of the authors and illustrators of the books that they read and enjoy everyday in school and at home.

Students in third, fourth and fifth grade will participate in the Minnesota Young Readers Association (MYRA) "Read and Vote" program by reading the required number of nominated books to vote for their favorite Star of the North picture book or Maud Hart Lovelace chapter book. Votes will be sent to the MYRA by April 1st, 2017 and awards will be announce for each book award on April 25, 2017.

Click on the award "icon" to learn more about each of these distinguished awards. 
1st Grade
1st Grade
Theodore Geisel Award
The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.
2nd Grade
2nd Grade
Randolph Caldecott Award

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

 3rd Grade

3rd Grade
Minnesota Star of the North Award

The Star of the North Picture Book Award was established in 2013 under the auspices of the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards. The purpose of the award is to promote quality, engaging picture books and reading for pleasure among school-aged children.

 4 & 5 Grade

4th & 5th Grade
Minnesota Maud hart Lovelace Award

Established by the Minnesota Young Reader's Association, in honor of the beloved Minnesota author of the "
Betsy and Tacy" series, The Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award-Division I recognizes outstanding fiction books in grades 3- 5th Grade.